The Beach Soccer African Cup of Nations ( BSAFCON) championship was established in 2006 when FIFA made it a requirement for all confederations to begin holding qualification tournaments on Beach Soccer to determine the best national teams in their region.

Beach Soccer Worldwide (BSWW) initially organised the competition under the title FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup qualifier also known as the CAF Beach Soccer championship

CAF became the lead organisers in 2015, establishing a qualification phase to determine the elite nations to compete in the tournament finals. CAF also officially renamed the Tournament as Beach Soccer African Cup of Nations (BSAFCON)

Current rankings of teams qualified for the BSAFCON 2022

1st – Senegal (5th Global)
2nd – Mozambique (21st Global)
3rd – Morocco (23rd Global)
4th – Egypt (28th Global)
5th – Uganda (46th Global)
6th – Nigeria (47th Global)
7th – Madagascar (75th Global)
8th – Malawi (102nd Global)

Powered by ABSU

Picture: Big Roo (Moz) & Raoul (Sen) during the 2021 BSAFCON finals in Saly Senegal.

Picture credits: @Nasyr_auwal

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *